Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • World
  • Users
  • Groups
Skins
  • Light
  • Cerulean
  • Cosmo
  • Flatly
  • Journal
  • Litera
  • Lumen
  • Lux
  • Materia
  • Minty
  • Morph
  • Pulse
  • Sandstone
  • Simplex
  • Sketchy
  • Spacelab
  • United
  • Yeti
  • Zephyr
  • Dark
  • Cyborg
  • Darkly
  • Quartz
  • Slate
  • Solar
  • Superhero
  • Vapor

  • Default (Darkly)
  • No Skin
Collapse

Chebucto Regional Softball Club

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorized
  3. This definetly seem very intentional…
A forum for discussing and organizing recreational softball and baseball games and leagues in the greater Halifax area.

This definetly seem very intentional…

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Uncategorized
rpgmemes
124 Posts 43 Posters 190 Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • J jounniy@ttrpg.network
    This post did not contain any content.
    Link Preview Image
    ? Offline
    ? Offline
    Guest
    wrote last edited by
    #115
    What a weird technicality to get caught up on. Disintegrate destroys wall of force. RAI over RAW any day. It makes absolutely no sense that you can't shoot a disintegrate wherever you want. If you're so worried about the wall being invisible, then target something behind the wall. It's a ray, and it hits the wall, and both spells explicitly say the wall is destroyed. Disintegrate also explicitly can target walls of force, even though it has the "target you can see" caveat. If a player tries to use the explicit counter to wall of force against it and you catch them on a technicality, you're harming the collaborative story. Don't exploit poor wording when the intent of both spells is clear. No one wants a DM rules lawyer.
    J 1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • ? Guest
      What a weird technicality to get caught up on. Disintegrate destroys wall of force. RAI over RAW any day. It makes absolutely no sense that you can't shoot a disintegrate wherever you want. If you're so worried about the wall being invisible, then target something behind the wall. It's a ray, and it hits the wall, and both spells explicitly say the wall is destroyed. Disintegrate also explicitly can target walls of force, even though it has the "target you can see" caveat. If a player tries to use the explicit counter to wall of force against it and you catch them on a technicality, you're harming the collaborative story. Don't exploit poor wording when the intent of both spells is clear. No one wants a DM rules lawyer.
      J This user is from outside of this forum
      J This user is from outside of this forum
      jounniy@ttrpg.network
      wrote last edited by
      #116
      I never said I wanted to ecologist it. I just pointed it out because it was very funny to me.
      1 Reply Last reply
      0
      • starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS starman2112@sh.itjust.works
        I mean it's tongue-in-cheek, and it's never really been a problem at my table. Just a fun way to remind casters not to argue about specific wording interpretations in spells, and take them as their most obvious meaning
        J This user is from outside of this forum
        J This user is from outside of this forum
        jounniy@ttrpg.network
        wrote last edited by
        #117
        Okay. But do you actually allow any use of the spell that's not as originally intended? Because some things are technical applications of the rules which rely on rules working as intended but still in very specific way without breaking the game at all.
        starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS 1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS starman2112@sh.itjust.works
          Finding loopholes is one thing, focusing on finding them so that you can "erm actually" a god is another
          J This user is from outside of this forum
          J This user is from outside of this forum
          jounniy@ttrpg.network
          wrote last edited by
          #118
          That one does not work RAW either way, because lungs are not an open container. But I never said I wanted to actually exploit this in a game. You can’t really exploit this one even if you want to, because it’s bound to be extremely specific. I just wanted to point out the weirdness.
          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • J jounniy@ttrpg.network
            Okay. But do you actually allow any use of the spell that's not as originally intended? Because some things are technical applications of the rules which rely on rules working as intended but still in very specific way without breaking the game at all.
            starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS This user is from outside of this forum
            starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS This user is from outside of this forum
            starman2112@sh.itjust.works
            wrote last edited by
            #119
            Sure. The line is somewhere between "I cast minor illusion to make an image of a filing cabinet, and hide inside of it" and "I cast Shape Water to freeze that guy's blood." In the former case, the spell never says I can't hide inside the illusory object. Clever, useful, not game-breaking. In the latter case, the spell says a creature can't be inside the water, but it never says the water can't be inside the creature! Bad, shame, you lose all your spell slots until the next long rest
            J 1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • J jounniy@ttrpg.network
              This post did not contain any content.
              Link Preview Image
              mimicjar@lemmy.worldM This user is from outside of this forum
              mimicjar@lemmy.worldM This user is from outside of this forum
              mimicjar@lemmy.world
              wrote last edited by
              #120
              I defer to Miracle Max on this one, ![](https://lemmy.world/pictrs/image/6e149ca6-dfb8-4ce2-92f3-7fe1c569e737.jpeg) One minute after death it's quite a corpse yet, just a creature with no hit points or death saving throws.
              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • starman2112@sh.itjust.worksS starman2112@sh.itjust.works
                Sure. The line is somewhere between "I cast minor illusion to make an image of a filing cabinet, and hide inside of it" and "I cast Shape Water to freeze that guy's blood." In the former case, the spell never says I can't hide inside the illusory object. Clever, useful, not game-breaking. In the latter case, the spell says a creature can't be inside the water, but it never says the water can't be inside the creature! Bad, shame, you lose all your spell slots until the next long rest
                J This user is from outside of this forum
                J This user is from outside of this forum
                jounniy@ttrpg.network
                wrote last edited by
                #121
                The last one is actually covered by it I'd say, because (as by rules of spell targeting) you cannot see the blood and furthermore (as confirmed by "Water breathing" not working in wine) spells that affect water really only affect water and that’s it. I know you mean it as a joke, but in my experience, punishing a player for trying to find out what you will and won’t allow them to do is a good way to get players that don’t want to be creative. Just tell them that you will not allow it. (Also… poor Mystra for having to waste that much divine power on someone trying to use spells in a way it can’t be used in anyway.) If everyone at your table is habilitated fun, then… well, have fun, but I'd advise against it.
                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • J jounniy@ttrpg.network
                  As hilarious as that is, are you sure that being immune to the form of imprisonment doesn’t just make the spell fail?
                  A This user is from outside of this forum
                  A This user is from outside of this forum
                  archpawn@lemmy.world
                  wrote last edited by
                  #122
                  Fey Ancestry just says magic can't put them to sleep. It doesn't cancel all magical effects that include putting them to sleep. But it's more complicated than that. Imprisonment has the phrase "While affected by this spell, the creature doesn't need to breathe, eat, or drink, and it doesn't age." So, if you get rid of the only other effect (sleeping), does that mean they're not affected by the spell, and thus they do need to breathe, eat, etc.? Or does the spell affect them, because it still makes it so they don't need to eat, breathe, etc.? Though you could argue that that's not the only effect of the spell. It also makes it so that you'll be detected by Detect Magic. Being an elf doesn't stop that, so you still won't need to breathe, eat, etc. Unless someone casts Nystul's Magic Aura.
                  J 1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • A archpawn@lemmy.world
                    Fey Ancestry just says magic can't put them to sleep. It doesn't cancel all magical effects that include putting them to sleep. But it's more complicated than that. Imprisonment has the phrase "While affected by this spell, the creature doesn't need to breathe, eat, or drink, and it doesn't age." So, if you get rid of the only other effect (sleeping), does that mean they're not affected by the spell, and thus they do need to breathe, eat, etc.? Or does the spell affect them, because it still makes it so they don't need to eat, breathe, etc.? Though you could argue that that's not the only effect of the spell. It also makes it so that you'll be detected by Detect Magic. Being an elf doesn't stop that, so you still won't need to breathe, eat, etc. Unless someone casts Nystul's Magic Aura.
                    J This user is from outside of this forum
                    J This user is from outside of this forum
                    jounniy@ttrpg.network
                    wrote last edited by
                    #123
                    I’d say RAI the answer is obvious. But by RAW it’s unspecified, so both could be true.
                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • mimicjar@lemmy.worldM mimicjar@lemmy.world
                      >A thin green ray springs from your pointing finger to a target that you can see within range. And no attack roll. Which is why I would rule the wall at the very least is destroyed, possibly continuing on.
                      J This user is from outside of this forum
                      J This user is from outside of this forum
                      jarix@lemmy.world
                      wrote last edited by
                      #124
                      Can't target the wall itself but the spell absolutley hits the wall if it's a ray
                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0

                      Reply
                      • Reply as topic
                      Log in to reply
                      • Oldest to Newest
                      • Newest to Oldest
                      • Most Votes


                      • 1
                      • 2
                      • 3
                      • 4
                      • 5
                      • 6
                      • 7
                      • Login

                      • Don't have an account? Register

                      • Login or register to search.
                      Powered by NodeBB Contributors
                      • First post
                        Last post
                      0
                      • Categories
                      • Recent
                      • Tags
                      • Popular
                      • World
                      • Users
                      • Groups